Disabling Workshare While Running Best Authority®
Some versions of Workshare Professional/Protect interfere with Best Authority. The symptoms are:
- Significant degradation of performance while running a scan or function in Draft Review
- Word freezes during a scan
- Word general application error ("crash") when navigating in Draft or Full Page Review
- The Word document loses text or becomes corrupt
If you are getting any of the problems while running Best Authority, Levit & James has developed a special feature which will automatically disable Workshare when you start Best Authority and re-enable Workshare when you exit Best Authority. This serves to workaround any reliability and performance problems from Workshare processing.
This feature works only in Word and will not affect the usage of Workshare in Outlook, Excel, or any other application other than Word.
Note: Disabling Workshare when running BA requires that you first save the current document and close all other documents. BA displays a prompt, when necessary, for this purpose.
Affected Software Versions
Workshare Professional versions 4.5 sp-1 and 5.22, 5.23.
The patch for 4.5 SR-1 is a one-file update. Click here to download this patch.
Once you have downloaded the file, unzip it into the Workshare program folder.
By default, this location is:
Re-registration of this component is not required in most cases.
Workshare Professional 5.2 SR-2 and SR-3 already contain the patch.
Workshare can be disabled in the following versions of Best Authority:
- 2.1: 2.1.400 and later
- 2.5: 2.5.050 and later
By default, affected versions of Best Authority will automatically disable Workshare. The behavior can be modified, however, through configuration of a setting in the BAADMIN.INI file:
Valid values are:
Default: Workshare will be automatically disabled. If the user is a BA administrator, then the user will be notified that Workshare is disabled. If the user is not a BA administrator, then Workshare will be disabled with no notification. This is the value set in the sample BAADMIN.INI file.
True: Workshare will be automatically disabled with no notification, regardless of user permissions.
False: Workshare will NOT be disabled. No notification will be displayed.
It is recommended that you set this value to True. The purpose of the Default setting is to ensure that this feature will not be overlooked by Best Authority administrators during an evaluation or after an upgrade.
NOTE: The BAADMIN.INI file is an administrative file and, as such, should only be accessible to users in the local administrators group on the workstation. If you do not have access to this file, contact your system administrator.
Levit & James Technical Support:
Workshare Technical Support: